And Then It Was 12

My dress sparked in the glimmer of party lights, reflecting purples and blues upon the white and copper sequins that decorated my New Year’s Eve best. It was the first time the New Year counted down in reverse. Bottle caps fell onto the ground excitedly, dribbling in my purse as the text notifications came in from friends and family both near and far. I realized before it was too late, but time made no difference when my mind wandered on the clouds of previous years.

There had been time; certainly in the month that unwound to the climax of daily life I had surrounded myself with the inspirational words of The Alchemist or The Secret. I had not been a poor user of idle frequency but on the day it counted, I counted back from 1. I was not ready for you 2015, I had not welcomed your arrival because that which would have given me the confidence to uphold my pride in personal successes was absent. That which would have been rose-colored glasses left me blind in grays and all while in winter, when the days are shorter and short comings are long.

The New Year came heavy, dragging a long kite’s tail tied with concerns and squinted eyes.


When we least expect it, life sets us a challenge to test our courage and willingness to change; at such a moment, there is no point in pretending that nothing has happened or in saying that we are not ready. – Paulo Coelho

One response to “And Then It Was 12

Leave a Reply

